Weekly Photo Challenge: JOY

IMG_5101

Next to ‘Hope’, ‘Joy’ is my favourite word, followed closely by ‘Love’ and ‘Peace’. Corny, I know, but it’s the truth. Joy is also my middle name, and I often feel very privileged to have such a lovely middle name.  I only had to flick back to photos taken less than a week ago to find one or two that epitomise ‘Joy’. I couldn’t go past my 97 year old grandfather, singing Christmas carols with gusto and joy on Christmas Day night at the huge annual family get together – everyone there was there because of this man (and my grandmother, although she passed away 9 years ago). Once dinner is finished and the presents done the whole family sing Christmas carols together. Once again corny, I know, but I will sure miss it when my grandfather is no longer with us. For now, I cherish the Joy I see in his eyes as he sings with his children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren and their partners.

I also love the photo below taken at my immediate family Christmas gathering with my children and their cousins, aunt and uncle at Christmas Tree time. Teenagers can be so grumpy and moody at times, and yet here in this photo, despite the poor quality of the snap, I see unadulterated joy and laughter as gifts are distributed and happy banter takes place.

IMG_4510

About stemgir1

Scientist, mother, survivor of childhood cancer, diagnosed in 2013 with breast cancer. Lover of life.
This entry was posted in Family, kids, life, teenagers, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: JOY

  1. Pingback: A BEAUTIFUL JOY | hastywords

  2. Pingback: One crisp moment, filled with Joy! | Words 'n Pics...

  3. Pingback: Joy « blogagaini

Leave a Reply

