Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument

Mount Macedon Memorial Cross ANZAC Day 2013The Mount Macedon Memorial Cross is a monument to those who served in the world wars.  This photo was taken on ANZAC Day, April 25th, last year. If you look closely you will see the wreaths laid at its base during the dawn service earlier that morning. I love that this cross is 10 minutes from where I live, and that driving home from the city each day or night, as I approach the mount, I can see the cross at the top of the mount, guiding me home. This particular photo evokes so many emotions. It was taken the day before my second surgery, a re-excision of the margins and axial clearance of the lymph nodes, as we were still getting our head around the news that the tumour was nastier than we had hoped – 4 cm and 1 lymph node involved. This outing up to the cross is etched vividly in my mind. It was a glorious autumn day and I felt strong and ready for whatever lay ahead. We had lunch with my parents at the Top of the Range cafe and then walked out to the cross. I love this photo even more for the fact that it has my mother in it, making her way down the path. I still can’t believe a whole year has gone by already. Boy, what a year that was.

About stemgir1

Scientist, mother, survivor of childhood cancer, diagnosed in 2013 with breast cancer. Lover of life.
This entry was posted in Australia, breast cancer, cancer, Family, flowers, inspiration, life, surgery, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument

  1. Cris says:

    Nice take on the Monument theme! Blessings to you in your recovery.

    Meanwhile, you’re welcome to come and see what my take on the theme is:
    http://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2014/04/15/weekly-photo-challenge-monument-2/

    Like

  2. Marie says:

    Today is my first ever Anzac day in Australia – it’s been a day of reflection on survivorship for me.

    Like

    • stemgir1 says:

      I’m sorry for the slow reply. I am currently in Paris, so it was a strange Anzac Day for me to be out of the country, although I’ve certainly also done lots of reflecting on survivorship while I’ve been over here…..a VERY different place to where I was exactly one year ago! I feel very fortunate. I start the trek home tomorrow evening, so will be back in the country on Friday. My head has been blogging but work and sightseeing has zapped all my energy to put words to print….for now. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

