Lunchtime teleporting

IMG_6918

Today at lunchtime I travelled to Pambula River. It might have been 576 km away by car, but I was there for 20 short minutes, basking in the warmth and sunshine. Today’s mindfulness session at work asked us to use our imagination to picture ourselves at a place that brings us peace and feelings of wellbeing. Without a moment’s hesitation I found myself sitting on the beach at the mouth of the Pambula River in New South Wales. Invited to notice the colours around me, I saw cerulean sky meet sapphire blue water, golden sand welcoming the green encroachment of the Australian bush, white froth as the waves played upon the weather-beaten rocks, the grey of dolphins occasionally spotted frolicking within the sand-bar, the washed-out hues of the boat houses tucked away down-stream on the river and the incredible white of the sea eagle that can always be found soaring high above the tree tops. Invited to hear the sounds around me, I could hear waves break gently on the shore, the laughter of children on the playground, the thud of a tennis ball hitting a plastic cricket bat, the squeals of delight from the boogey-boarders riding the surf, the wind blowing through the trees and the call of the Australian bush. Invited to notice the smells around me I was hit by the ever-so-slight pungent smell of seaweed and sea, the smell of sunscreen as it was slathered on shiny limbs and torsos and the smell of potato chips and hot tea that always accompany our picnics. Invited to feel my surroundings, I wiggled my toes and fingers in the golden grains of sand and felt the roughness of the beach towel as I laid my head back. The craggy rocks pinched my backside as I sat on them and watched my children play but the warmth of the sun penetrating my marrow and every fibre of my being filled me with such wellbeing, joy and peace. And then a sensory explosion as we were invited to use all senses to fully experience where we were. I was 100% there sitting on the sand, basking in the sun, walking by the river and watching the sea eagle catch the wind currents high above. All-too-soon the journey was over and we were being brought back to the present moment, back to reality and the crazy busyness of meetings and reports and the million things that needed to be finished that afternoon. I nearly didn’t go to today’s mindfulness session, another “meeting” to squeeze into my day but I’m so glad I did. I got to take a part of that peace and wellbeing with me into the afternoon and it made all the difference.

IMG_6323

About stemgir1

Scientist, mother, survivor of childhood cancer, diagnosed in 2013 with breast cancer. Lover of life.
This entry was posted in Australia, Family, inspiration, mindfulness, relaxation, respite, rest, stillness, Travel, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lunchtime teleporting

  1. Joyce Smith says:

    How fabulous…you were able to take not only yourself to this beautiful place …so special to you..but take your readers along with you…delightful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

