Having the time of my life

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3f4/50321146/files/2015/01/img_5835.jpg

The second of January is always a day of reflection for me. It was on this day thirty-five years ago that I underwent an above-knee amputation for bone cancer; the day my life dramatically changed course. This was followed by 18-months of high-dose chemotherapy. Back then, osteosarcoma had a 60% survival rate and quite a few of the kids I met at the hospital didn’t make it. But I did. This is something I never take for granted and the life I have been allowed to live is amazing. Today we packed up the car for our annual road trip to the beach. While the effort of getting everything loaded into the car was immense, once on the road, the trip was fun. The music was pumped up loud, with everyone singing along. It was great! As Good Riddance (Time of Your Life) by Greenday belted out, I was awash with gratitude for the life that I have and the family I have to share it with. I love that song! I’m so very thankful and I’m having the time of my life.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3f4/50321146/files/2015/01/img_5775.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/3f4/50321146/files/2015/01/img_5836.jpg

About stemgir1

Scientist, mother, survivor of childhood cancer, diagnosed in 2013 with breast cancer. Lover of life.
This entry was posted in cancer, Family, gratitude, healing, inspiration, joy, life, music, osteosarcoma, summer, surgery, Travel, vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

